“Permission Denied.”

“I’d like to leave now, please.”

“Permission denied.”

“But I have all my papers! I put everything in order! Here, look!”

“…Permission denied.”

“Are my papers not good enough? Did I file something wrong?”

“You don’t have a hall pass.”

“…”

“…”

“…Are you serious?”

“As an overdose. Permission denied.”

“What if I get a hall pass?”

“Then you can leave.”

“Fine. Where do I get one?”

“Down the hall.”

“May I go get one, then?”

“You can try. But that’s back the way you came. You’ll have to start all over. Refile all your paperwork, retake all your pills, wait in line for what seems like forever.”

“But if I get this hall pass, you’ll let me leave?”

“We’ll review your paperwork. We’ll still make you wait in line, but you’ll have priority.”

“Then I’ll go get a hall pass.”


“I’d like to leave now, please.”

“Permission denied.”

“But I have all my papers! I put everything in order! I have a hall pass!

“This isn’t the right hall pass. This is a knife-shaped pass. Your papers say you need a pill-shaped pass.”

“I thought I just needed a pass! You didn’t tell me they came in different kinds!”

“You didn’t ask. This pass is invalid. You’ll have to get the proper one.”

“But this is already my second attempt.”

“You should have thought of that before you got the wrong pass.”

“Will you make me file all my paperwork again? Wait in line again?”

“We always do.”

“I’ll go get the right pass.”

“Be sure it matches your paperwork.”


“I’d like to leave now, please.”

“Permission denied.”

“But I have all my papers! I put everything in order! I got my pass and its the right one!

“Someone’s denied your pass.”

Who?!”

“A family member. They don’t want you to leave. They have filed ‘counter papers’.”

“How can they do that?”

“It’s your third attempt you really shouldn’t be surprised. After your first, they made some inquires, put some safeguards in place.”

“Are my wishes less important than theirs?”

“They are equally important. But until there is a hearing, we cannot let you leave. You should discuss your wishes with them.”

“Please, I just want to leave. Please.”

“Permission denied. Please return to the back of the line.”


“I’d like to leave now, please.”

“Permission granted. You have all your papers. You put everything in order.”

“What, no hall pass?”

“You don’t need one. Your papers indicate there was no external assistance. Hall passes are only required for objects of external assistance.”

“No family members filing counter papers?”

“A few. But in this instance, their claims are not valid. You waited patiently in line. You didn’t try to cut to the front.”

“So, I can leave?”

“You may. Please enjoy your trip.”

“I will.”

“Next.”

“I’d like to leave now, please.”

“Permission denied.”

“But I have all my papers! I put everything in order! Here, look!”

“You need a hall pass.”

“I need a what?!

Leave a Reply

