Current Mood: Pocketful Of Sunshine

I got a pocket, got a pocketful of sunshine.
I got a love, and I know that it’s all mine.
Oh, oh whoa…

Rain was pouring outside as the boy pattered down the stairs, tugging on a sweater and rubbing sleep from his eyes. He yawned hugely as he stumbled into the kitchen, following the sweet scent of coffee and cinnamon buns as he plopped onto a stool at the island.

“Late night, I take it?”

He grumbled in agreement as he flopped over the counter, head pillowed on his arms. The soft clatter of china on tile alerted him to the arrival of his breakfast and he peeked up to find a bright yellow mug smiling at him. Literally.

“Thanks, Da.” He muttered, smiling back at the mug as he picked it up and sniffed it experimentally.

The rich scent of freshly ground coffee and hazelnut filled his nostrils, mingled with a touch of sugar and finished off with cream. He hummed appreciatively as he took a sip, the warm liquid sliding down his throat and pooling out into his chest. He picked up one of the rolls and bit into it with gusto, grinning around it as his father leaned against the island and toasted him with his own mug.

“I know they’re not quite the same as your mother’s, but…”

“No, Da, they’re great.” Ness grinned, taking another bite and talking around it. “Really. They’re perfect.”

“Well I’m glad you like ’em.” Ronin grinned into his mug. “I thought you might need something special this morning.”

Ness chuckled, peering out the window at the downpour. “It’s kind of miserable out there today, isn’t it?”

“Fortunately, I have nowhere to be for the rest of the day, and I don’t think you do either.” He winked. “Besides, those rolls won’t eat themselves, you know.”

Ness grinned, finishing off his in another massive bite, licking his fingers clean. He swallowed before he took another gulp of coffee, sighing contentedly.

Mornings with his father were rare, Ronin’s business keeping him out at all hours, but when he did occasionally catch him for more than a few minutes, Ness took full advantage of the time he could carve out with his dad. Cinnamon rolls and fresh coffee were just icing on the cake, really.

“Anything you want to do, since we have the day?” Ronin prompted, adding another roll to Ness’s plate. “I think you still owe me a rematch on Street Fighter.”

“Uh, no sir, I do not.” Ness snorted. “I beat you fair and square.”

“My injured pride argues otherwise.”

Ness grinned, glancing between the rain outside and the emoji mug in his hands, wondering if perhaps the storm wasn’t entirely nature’s idea. After all, Water Witches were notorious for meddling in order to make people happy…

“Okay, you’re on.”

The sun is on my side.
Take me for a ride.
I smile up to the sky.
I know I’ll be all right…

Song of the Day: Pocketful of Sunshine by Natasha Bedingfield
(Boyce Avenue Acoustic Cover)

Leave a Reply

