Current Mood: Fallen Angel

All of heaven wept the day you left, our sister torn from our grasp.
Despair sat heavy in our hearts as we mourned your fall from grace,
Lost to the word below, gone without a trace,
Never again to embrace us, never again for our hands to clasp.

Fallen angel, close your eyes, I won’t let you fall tonight.

Powerless to stop what our Father decreed, I was left to take your place.
I watched over the little girl you had loved so much,
Treating her like a porcelain doll, ever the soft touch.
I watched her grow, ever watchful, and saw in her glimpses of your grace.

Fallen angel, close your eyes, I won’t let you fall tonight.

The Nightmares came for her, and I fought my best,
But you were always the better warrior, a far better Guardian than I.
And on her brighter days, we would sit together and watch the sky,
Always searching, praying, begging our Father to grant my request.

Fallen angel, close your eyes, I won’t let you fall tonight.

And when you finally came, it was covered in blood and grime.
Storm winds blew you back into her life, half-drowned and broken.
No apology was needed, no words were spoken.
I fixed you, piece by piece, and wept as I forgave your unintentional crime.

Fallen angel, close your eyes, I won’t let you fall tonight.

There were so many times I thought you would run away,
That you would leave her, me, us, alone once more,
That you would be forsaken, forgotten, fallen, just as before.
But I know now, my beloved Fallen Angel is here to stay.

Fallen angel, close your eyes, I won’t let you fall tonight.

Song of the Day: Fallen Angel by Three Days Grace

Leave a Reply

