“That’s why he’s good at his job.”

“This whole secret keeper thing… What is that about?”

“What does it sound like, Ness?”

“No, no, I’m not dense. I know that Constantine’s your bodyguard and he looks out for you and he knows more than he admits, but what does secret keeper entail? That sounds a whole lot more suspicious than it has any real right to, if you ask me.”

“I didn’t ask you, you asked me.”

“And you’re not telling me, now are you?”

“I wasn’t planning to.”

“So you know more than you admit too!”

“I would have thought that would be obvious. We can’t all blab out confidential information.”

“That was one time.”

“Well Con’s never done it, ever. That’s why he’s good at his job. He knows how to keep a secret.”

“But whose secrets does he keep, anyway? Can’t just be yours, now can it?”

“That would be telling.”

“Oh, c’mon! You can trust me!”

“I know I can. But that doesn’t mean I’m going to just spill out secrets, now does it? C’mon, don’t worry about it.”

“But–”

“Ness. Would you ask your dad whose secrets he keeps?”

“Well, no, but that’s cause I like all my parts where they are, thank you very much.”

“Then you shouldn’t ask about the secrets Con keeps, either.”

“…Fine.”

“Good boy.”

Leave a Reply

