“Everyone breaks your heart.”

“I’m so happy, ya know? Because, well, I feel loved and happy, and I know I could wake up next to him for the rest of my life, and I would be content with that. I don’t need or want anything else.”

“That’s awesome! I’m so happy for you!”

“But… Guys, what if he breaks my heart?”

“Oh, he will.”

“What??”

“Everyone breaks your heart: friends, lovers, family members. Everyone will break your heart, in one way or another, sooner or later. And if you’re really, really lucky, they break your heart in a good way.”

“How are there good ways?”

“Like when you see them with their family, just being themselves and being loved, or when you get to glimpse their soul at 3 am, when you’re star-gazing. Hearts don’t have to be broken by pain, they can be broken by beauty.”

“You’re a college-kid philosopher. Stop that.”

“Oh, c’mon, you know you like it when I pontificate! It’s fun!”

“I’m serious, though, what if something happens? I have this nagging feeling in my gut…”

“Ignore it. Live for today, for right now, for that happy, warm feeling he gives you. Don’t worry about tomorrow. Just enjoy the time you have now. And if something happens, and he breaks your heart, we’ll be right here to help you back up again. That’s what friends do.

“We will road-trip it, if that happens. We will drive as far as we have to to bring you movies, chocolate, ice cream, and comfort. Don’t think we won’t.”

“You guys are awesome.”

“So are you… So if he breaks your heart, I will break his face.”

“In the bad way.”

“Well yeah, there’s no good way to break a face…”

“Oh my gosh, stop. You get to be a psycho or a philosopher, you don’t get to be both.”

“Why not? They’re both fun!”

Leave a Reply

