“In The Future”

“In the future, do you think you’ll be able to make a digital copy of yourself?”

“You mean like a hologram?”

“No, like a digital version of yourself- a self that could enter video games or virtual realities. That could like for you in a world you couldn’t otherwise reach.”

“Oh… Well, I don’t know about that. Wren and Raven told me they do have virtual realities then. It’s like going to a hotel hooked up to the Matrix… I think I’d be afraid of forgetting how to live, if I did that.”

“Mmm…
“What brought this on? You usually reserve your future-questions for the twins.”

“…Just wondered if I’d do more good inside a computer’s motherboard.”

“Mizuki…”

“Don’t you Mizuki me, Ness. You know I’m right to wonder.”

“You’re not right to wonder. It’s absurd that you should. You do a lot of good right where you are. You don’t need to be in a video game for him, or anyone else, to notice you.”

“…When did you get so good at knowing what I’m thinking without my permission?”

“We all know, Mizuki. We just keep our mouths shut about it until you decide it needs to be dealt with. Which, by the way, should probably be more often then it currently is.”

“Yeah, I know… Hey, Ness, in the future, do you think we’ll be happy?”

“Oh, I’m absolutely sure of it, Madam.”

Leave a Reply

