The Garden

Luscious red fruit dangles before her eyes-
Good for food.

The snake hisses his twisted lies and I still cannot move.
I stand paralyzed by fear and doubt.

She takes the leap- plucks the fruit-
Inhales a sickly sweet aroma, and smiles.

Even before her teeth pierce its fragile flesh,
I know we have fallen.

Juice drips from once innocent lips-
Eyes wide with a stare I do not recognize-
As she turns to me with the proffered gift.

I long for my Father and the Garden we know-
But she is my Helpmeet- I will not leave her alone.

Luscious red fruit dangles before my eyes-
Good for food.

Leave a Reply

