My River

Dark ink and water
flow steadily into one,
this will be my story
it has just begun.

There’s a river within me
deep and dark it flows
whispering softly,
found within my bones.

It holds my soul together,
knits me into being
creates a pattern,
gives my life meaning.

My river’s flowing
bright and carmine red.
This is my life,
this blood that I have bled.

Through my body
the river rushes, loud
Into my veins,
makes my heart pound.

There’s a river within me
gives my life meaning,
whispering softly:
“This is my story.”

Leave a Reply

