“Have You Seen…?”

“Have you seen…?”

“How could I miss it?”

“Isn’t she…”

Beautiful.”

“Do you think she knows?”

“How could she not? She’s not blind, and she’s certainly not dumb.”

“She’s gonna knock em dead in that dress…”

“Should make your job easier, shouldn’t it?”

“Why, Commander, was that a joke?”

“Heh… I do have a sense of humor, you know.”

“Where’s it been hiding all this time, under a rock in Tibet?”

“No, no, under a slab of concrete in Jersey. Obviously.”

“Haha! My, my, you are the joker tonight— is she really so distracting?”

“You saw her, didn’t you?”

“Yes. As did you. And even you have to admit there’s something wonderful about our little flower blooming like that.”

“Mm.”

“She’s not a little girl anymore, Constantine. She’s growing up, you can’t ignore that fact.”

“That doesn’t mean I have to like it.”

“No one’s asking you to like it, obviously. You’re practically her father.”

“I am.”

“Con…”

“No, don’t. You know it’s true. She’s my little girl; my own little girl that I never got to have… It’s selfish of me, I know, but that’s who she is.”

“…It’s not that selfish. Not any more so than the rest of us are. You want to protect her because it’s what you never got to do… I want to keep an eye on her so I can make sure she passes over safely. We all have our reasons, some of them less innocent than others, but just because you want to have what you lost once doesn’t mean you’re a bad person.”

“You sound like you’re talking from experience.”

“I am.”

“Then you’ll know it’s the same for her.”

“Oh, I know. But you’re stubborn, and she’s crafty, and one of these days you’re going to see her walk down an aisle to a man waiting to take her hand till death do they part.”

“Over my dead body.”

“Ha! Don’t let her here you say that… Oh! Here she comes!”

“…She’ll make a beautiful bride.”

“What makes you say that?”

“She looks so stunning in white.”

Leave a Reply

